Another historic town which dates back prior to the 1840's and still retains today, all of it's charm of yesteryears is 'Millthorpe', known as Spring Grove until 1884.
Mail and parcels were continually getting lost because there were so many similarly named places on the rail line so the name was changed to Millthorpe.
The Methodist Church was build just a few years later.
John Lister of the Ophir gold find is buried in the cemetery at Millthorpe and at a height of 955m Millthorpe is the highest point on the transcontinental line west of the Blue Mountains.
The surrounding farmlands were large potato growing areas but now mainly produce sheep, cattle and some wine.
There are many 19th century buildings in Millthorpe. Charles Booth, who was in charge of convicts built Grove Farm in 1835 and Thomas Mitchell stayed there as a guest when on some of his expeditions. The old 'headmaster's house' dates back to 1876 and was the school and house combined.
A picturesque historic village set amid farms and a rural landscape Millthorpe is classified by the National Trust and a great tourist destination - located just a short distance (10 minutes) from Orange.
Our Thanks....... please mention the Orange-nsw website when you contact any business, organisation below.
Central West NSW Australia
c. 1901 THE GRAND WESTERN HOTEL, MILLTHORPE NSW
RE-PRINT - Text by Millthorpe Museum
Street sign funded by Millthorpe Murphy Marathon 2000 Committee, produced by GLD Enterprises.
The Grand Western Hotel was built in 1901 by Joseph Wells for John Frape.
Prominent citizens held a lavish opening function in May 1905 with a large banquet, entertainment and speeches. An early Licensee was Enoch Fletcher, but the Frape Family held a strong interest with Alfred and George Frape holding hotel and billiard licenses between 1909 and 1918.
In its heyday, the hotel consisted of 40 expensively furnished accommodation rooms, three sitting rooms, two dining rooms, a billiard room, two bars containing ornamental cedar counters, embossed with red and gold, artistic ceilings, marble fireplaces, gas lighting and up to date amenities.
In 1908, it was described as one of the best conducted hotels between Blayney and Bourke. The 1916 tariff was 25/- per night with a three-course meal for 1/6d. Rooms were provided for commercial travellers and a carriage driven by Mrs Frape met all trains.
The building has many significant architectural features, with substantial double storey brick construction, extensive lace verandah and unique keyhole window
PHOTO GALLERY: Click any image to view the large image Gallery Slide Show of Millthorpe Village...